There are 9 Planets in our Solar System. Some of them have Moons and some don’t. Some planets have more than one moon, like Jupiter; it has 16 moons altogether. Research was done on the planets, but now scientists have become very interested in the moons too. Now they are sending spaceships and satellites to different moons for observation.

Let’s start with our moons. Earth’s moon, we can see it every night. Scientists think that earth’s moon has come from earth itself, because they found similarity in the earth’s and moon’s soil. They think that something the size of planet mars crashed on earth billions of years ago and then pieces of earth which was blasted out formed the moon. It’s only a theory some scientists believe to be true.
Mars has two moons, Deimos and Phobos. Deimos is round but Phobos has the shape of a potato. Its gravitational pull is very low. If any person goes there and makes a little jump it will take them 20 minutes to come down. And if someone jumps with more force they would be able to reach Phobos’ orbit. Phobos has a dusty, black muddy surface layer of around 1.5 feet. If anyone kicks the ground black dust will spread around so densely that the person won’t be able to see anything for a while. If anyone throws a rock in one direction, it will sail around the Moon and come back to the person from the opposite direction after 20 minutes. Mars can be seen very easily and clearly from Phobos using only binoculars. Scientists think that there were more moons orbiting Mars, but they crashed down on Mars through time. They think that Phobos will also crash down on Mars within the next 40 years.
via My Blog

Last Updated on

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our blog.

You have Successfully Subscribed!